Terror Empire to release “Obscurity Rising” Album in September - Artwork Revealed - Pre-orders Available

Portuguese thrashers Terror Empire will release their sophomore album “Obscurity Rising”, on September 23 via Mosher Records.

Written and recorded during the first half of 2017 at João Dourado’s Golden Jack Studios, in the band’s hometown Coimbra, this new album is more focused, direct and diverse. “Terror Empire is a fast sounding, yet expressive and technically demanding band”, producer (and band drummer) Dourado says, regarding the album dynamics. Songs range from Terror Empire’s modern sounding thrash metal to skin-pounding brutal death metal, however, this doesn’t stop the band from finding itself through experimenting with slower-paced tunes and atmospheric interludes. In terms of lyrics, vocalist Ricardo Martins insists on the criticizing “this sociopathic system that crushes and devours us”, pointing his finger towards a “culture that values war and hatred over humanism”. A couple of years after the release of “The Empire Strikes Black” through Nordavind Records, – debut that gathered raving reviews from all over the globe – “Obscurity Rising” finds a new home in Mosher Records. “It almost feels like a self-released album, because it’s my label and it would just feel wrong not to release the new record through it”, says guitarist Rui Alexandre, adding that “no other label would know the band like I do, and the rest of the guys trust me to do a great job”.

Another novelty regarding the new record lies on the return of guitarist Nuno Raimundo (also of Tales for the Unspoken), who had already played with the band in the past. Nuno already took care of several lead guitar duties on the album.

The artwork is the creative output by André Coelho, who had already worked with the band on the previous album art.

Terror Empire is set to perform the new album live during the next months, with upcoming gigs already confirmed:

  • June 11 – Corroios w/ Hatebreed + For the Glory + Black  Bomb A;
  • July 15 – Santarém
  • August 4/5/6 (TBC) – VOA Fest
  • September 23 – Coimbra album release show
  • October 6 – Faro Alternativo
  • October 7 – Festival Bardoada.

“Obscurity Rising” is now available to pre-order at www.mosherrecords.com.

The band can be booked via info@moveup.pt.

Track listing:

01. Obscurity Rising
02. You’ll Never See Us Coming
03. Burn the Flags
04. Times of War
05. Meaning In Darkness
06. Holy Greed
07. Lust
08. Death Wish
09. Feast of the Wretched
10. Soldiers of Nothing
11. New Dictators

FacebookInstagramYouTubeMosher Records